Court Information Release



United States District Court Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division 219 South Dearborn Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604

Release Date: April 16, 2018

Contact: Julie Hodek, Public Information Officer

United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois 219 S. Dearborn St., #2548

Chicago, IL 60604 312-435-5693

julie_hodek@ilnd.uscourts.gov

NINETEENTH ANNUAL AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PRO BONO AND PUBLIC INTEREST SERVICE

CHICAGO – The United States District Court's Eighteenth Annual Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono and Public Interest Service is scheduled to begin at 3:00 p.m., Tuesday, May 1, 2018, in the James Benton Parsons Memorial Courtroom (2525) of the Everett McKinley Dirksen United States Courthouse at 219 South Dearborn Street in Chicago, Illinois. These awards will honor attorneys for their contributions in helping people most in need of assistance before the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois. The program is open to all attorneys and those interested in pro bono and public interest law and is free of charge.

This annual ceremony recognizing pro bono and public interest service before the Court is sponsored jointly by the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois and the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association. **Kip T. Bollin**, the National President of the Federal Bar Association, will be the keynote speaker.

Kip Bollin is a graduate of New York University and Georgetown Law. He was admitted to the practice of law in 1995 and began his legal career as a law clerk to Hon. Sam H. Bell of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Ohio. Currently, he is a litigation partner at Thompson Hine LLP in Cleveland, Ohio, where he represents clients faced with product liability and business claims, including class actions. Mr. Bollin joined the Board of the FBA's Northern District of Ohio Chapter in 2003, and served as the chapter's Younger Lawyers Committee Chair and CLE Committee Chair. After serving in other chapter officer positions, he was elected President of the NDOH Chapter for the 2010-11 term. Nationally, he has served on many committees and was the Chair of the Task Force for Review of Membership Growth and Benefits created by former president Bob DeSousa. Mr. Bollin was elected to the national FBA Board of Directors in 2012, and has since been elected Treasurer and President-elect of the Federal Bar Association.

Mr. Bollin is also the Chair of the Northern District of Ohio Advisory Group, a court-appointed panel charged with providing information on matters of interest to the court, assisting in the implementation of court-adopted programs, and bringing to the court's attention matters of interest to the bar and the community. He previously served as co-chair of the group's Civil Rules Committee.

The awards program will also feature comments and introductions by **Chief Judge Rubén Castillo** and **Jordan P. Vick**, President of the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association.

The United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois and the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association proudly recognize the following award winners who will all be publicly recognized at the May 1 ceremony:

Awards for "Excellence in Public Interest Service"

Beth Jantz and Daniel P. McLaughlin of the Federal Defender Program

Business and Professional People for the Public Interest

Awards for "Excellence in Pro Bono Service"

Giel Stein at Clark Hill PLC

Robert M. Gerstein and Tiffany D. Gehrke at Marshall Gerstein & Borun LLP

Thomas E. Johnson at Johnson, Jones, Snelling & Gilbert

Robert D. Nachman at Barack Ferrazano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg, LLP

W. Anthony Andrews and John E. Motylinski at Ottosen Britz Kelly Cooper Silbert & Dinolfo

Alec J. Solotorovsky and David T. Erie at Kirkland & Ellis

George H. Brant at Judge, James, Hoban & Fisher

David T. Pritikin, Kathleen E. Garvey, Alison R. Leff, John W. McBride, Brian W. Tobin at Sidley Austin LLP and Daniel M. Greenfield at the MacArthur Justice Center

Paul K. Vickrey at Vitale, Vickrey, Niro & Gasey LLP

Olivia Luk Bedi and Collette A. Brown at Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg, LLP and Jonathan S. Bedi and Dana M. Singer at Bedi & Singer, LLP

Robert L. Byman, Jennifer S. Senior, and Roni J. Cohen at Jenner & Block LLP

Patrick S. Coffey and Margaret K. Heitkamp at Husch Blackwell

Scott W. Fowkes at Kirkland & Ellis

Jason A. Frye at Neal, Gerger & Eisenberg, LLP

Michelle J. Gilbert at LAF

Gary S. Kaplan, Samuel M. Schwartz-Fenwick, and Andrew R. Cockroft at Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Charles B. Leuin, Ian D. Burkow, and Kyle L. Flynn at Greenberg Traurig, LLP

Craig C. Martin and Elin I. Park at Jenner & Block, LLP

Chelsea Ashbrook McCarthy, Michael A. Grill, and Rachel C. Agius at Holland & Knight

William C. Meyers at Goldberg Kohn Ltd.

Sara M. Skulman at Greenberg Traurig and Timothy K. Sendek at Akerman LLP

Jeffrey A. Atteberry, Stephen R. Brown, Rachel S. Morse, Daniel R. Murray, Melissa M. Root, Justin C. Steffen, Matthew T. Gordon, Anna J. Mitran, Laura L. Norris, Christopher M. Sheehan, Paul Alp, Laura B. Duchesne, and Dusan Sarapa at Jenner & Block, LLP"