#### **Court Information Release**



# United States District Court Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division 219 South Dearborn Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604

Release Date: April 24, 2025

**Contact:** Julie Hodek, Public Information Officer

United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois 219 S. Dearborn St., #2548

Chicago, IL 60604 312-435-5693

julie\_hodek@ilnd.uscourts.gov

## TWENTY-FIFTH ANNUAL AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PRO BONO AND PUBLIC INTEREST SERVICE

CHICAGO – The United States District Court's Twenty-fifth Annual Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono and Public Interest Service is scheduled to begin at 1:00 p.m., Thursday, May 1, 2025, in the James Benton Parsons Memorial Courtroom (2525) of the Everett McKinley Dirksen United States Courthouse at 219 South Dearborn Street in Chicago, Illinois. These awards will honor attorneys for their contributions in helping people most in need of assistance before the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois. The program is open to all attorneys and those interested in pro bono and public interest law and is free of charge.

This annual ceremony recognizing pro bono and public interest service before the Court is sponsored jointly by the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois and the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association. **Glen R. McMurry**, the National President of the Federal Bar Association, will be the keynote speaker.

Mr. McMurry received his undergraduate degree at Kansas State University and his J.D. from the University of Dayton School of Law. Mr. McMurry is a partner in the Taft Dayton office and a member of the Litigation practice group. He has over 17 years of experience serving diverse corporations and individuals resolving a wide variety of issues, including complex dispute resolution and compliance with local, state, and federal laws. Mr. McMurry also focuses his practice on employment issues, construction claims, insurance claims/defense, and mergers and acquisitions. In September 2024, he was installed as the National President of the Federal Bar Association.

Mr. McMurry has been an active participant in the FBA for over a decade. Glen served as the Dayton, Ohio Chapter President for three years (2010-2012). Since then, he has served in many capacities, including Chairing the Younger Lawyer Division in 2016, serving on Government Relations Committee, the Editorial Board, serving as one of the Sixth Circuit Vice-Presidents, and serving on the National Board of Directors for multiple terms.

For his exemplary work, Mr. McMurry has received numerous accolades including the 2019 Federal Bar Association National President's Award for Extraordinary Service and being recognized by Ohio Super Lawyers for over a decade.

The awards program will also feature comments and introductions by **Chief Judge Virginia M. Kendall** and **Erin M. Franzblau**, President of the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association.

The United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois and the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association proudly recognize the following award winners who will all be publicly recognized at the May 1st ceremony:

### Lifetime Achievement Award for "Excellence in Public Interest and Pro Bono Service"

Alan Mills, The Uptown People's Law Center

### Awards for "Excellence in Pro Bono Service"

Michael G. Babbitt (deceased) of Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP

Binal J. Patel, Brian Apel, and Christian T. Wolfgram of Banner Witcoff

Douglas Matton of Matton and Werwas, P.C.

Magistrate Judge Laura K. McNally and Emily Haus Stone of Loeb & Loeb LLP

Reid Schar, Alexis Bates, Hope Tone-O'Keefe, Megan Cahillane, Michael Pearson, Tomi Johnson, and Sara Hickey of Jenner & Block LLP

Stacey Lynn Wilkins of Tressler LLP

Joseph Dusek of the Law Office of Joe Dusek, LLC

David Callahan, Justin Kirschner, Genevieve Zimmerman, and Margaret Babad of Latham & Watkins

John Gekas and Nathan Henderson of Saul Ewing LLP

John D. Mitchell, Amanda Amert, and Will Weber of Willkie Farr & Gallagher LLP

Jacie Zolna of Myron M. Cherry & Associates, LLC

Melissa F. Gold and Timothy Ray of Holland & Knight LLP

Heather Benzmiller Sultanian, Natalie C. Chan, Leslie Kuhn-Thayer, Andrew F. Rodheim, Rebecca Lewis Tierney, and Stephen Beemsterboer of Sidley Austin LLP

Daniel A. Spira, Emily Woodring, Thomas H. Collier, Jonathan Dussik, and Ian C. Ferrell of Sidley Austin LLP

Meredith McBride of Goldman Ismail Tomaselli Brennan & Baum LLP

Naeem Shabbir Nulwala of Legal Aid Chicago

Devlin Joseph Schoop of Laduzinsky & Associates, P.C.

Andrew Fraker and Joseph Sherling of Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP

Pravin B. Rao of Perkins Coie LLP

John Gekas and Nathan Henderson of Saul Ewing LLP

Andrew Rima of Goldman Ismail Tomaselli Brennan & Baum LLP

Rami Fakhouri of Goldman Ismail Tomaselli Brennan & Baum LLP