## **Court Information Release**



United States District Court Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division 219 South Dearborn Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604

Release Date: May 19, 2010 Contact: Joel Daly (312) 435-5693 (phone) (312) 554-8239 (fax) joel daly@ilnd.uscourts.gov

## Eleventh Annual Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono and Public Interest Service

CHICAGO – Lawrence Baca, President of the Federal Bar Association, will be the keynote speaker at a May 26, 2010 awards ceremony sponsored by the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois and the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association, recognizing pro bono and public interest service before the court.

Mr. Baca is President of the Federal Bar Association. A Pawnee Indian, he was formerly a Deputy Director of the Office of Tribal Justice, United States Department of Justice. During his 32 years with the Department, he also served as a Senior Trial Attorney in the Civil Rights Division for 28 years. When he retired in 2008, he was presented the Attorney General's Medallion - the highest award the Attorney General can present to a retiring employee. The Award was only presented seven times in the last decade.

Mr. Baca's civil rights work on behalf of American Indians in the areas of Credit, Voting Rights and Education was groundbreaking. The Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights has said that Mr. Baca filed more civil rights cases on behalf of American Indians than any other attorney in the history of the Civil Rights Division. A 1976 graduate of Harvard Law School, Mr. Baca was one of the first American Indians to graduate from Harvard and he was the first American Indian ever hired through the Department of Justice's Honor Law Program.

Mr. Baca is a nationally recognized authority on Federal Indian Law and he has taught Federal Indian Law at American University Washington College of Law and at Howard University School of Law. In April 2008, the Indian Law Section of the Federal Bar Association created the Lawrence R. Baca Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Federal Indian Law to honor his career and contributions to the Federal Bar Association. He was, of course, it's first recipient. Mr. Baca has also received the American Bar Association Spirit of Excellence Award recognizing his work in mentoring minority attorneys and opening doors and opportunities for Native American attorneys at the Department of Justice.

Mr. Baca was Chairman of the ABA Commission on Racial and Ethnic Diversity in the Profession from 2002-2005.

The Eleventh Annual Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono and Public Interest Service is scheduled to begin at 3:00 p.m., Wednesday, May 26, 2010, in the James Benton Parsons Memorial Courtroom (2525) of the Everett McKinley Dirksen United States Courthouse at 219 South Dearborn Street in Chicago, Illinois. The program is open to all attorneys and those interested in pro bono and public interest law, and is free of charge.

Thirteen "Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono Service" will be presented to area attorneys for their contributions in helping those most in need of assistance through pro bono work before the District Court for the Northern District of Illinois.

Award winners include: Daniel A. Kaufman, David M. Caves, and Jolanda B. Krawczyk of Michael Best & Friedrich LLP (Presented by District Judge Elaine E. Bucklo); David S. Almeida, Jeffrey T. Baravetto, Gregory W. Hose, and Yesenia Villasenor-Rodriguez (Presented by District Judge George W. Lindberg); Chad Main and Kevin D. McHugh of Meckler Bulger Tilson Marick & Pearson LLP (Presented by District Judge Blanche M. Manning); Paula W. Render of Jones Day (Presented by District Judge Matthew F. Kennelly); Michael A. Doornweerd, Sean P. Tarantino, Marisa K. Perry, and Katherine Neff Welsh of Jenner & Block LLP (Presented by District Judge Matthew F. Kennelly); Christopher B. Wilson and Jonathan Buck of Perkins Coie LLP (Presented by District Judge Amy St. Eve); Thomas M. Durkin of Mayer Brown LLP (Presented by District Judge Samuel Der-Yeghiayan); Dennis P.W. Johnson of Pugh, Jones, Johnson & Quandt, PC (Presented by District Judge Robert M. Dow, Jr. and Magistrate Judge Geraldine Soat Brown); Julie O'Donnell Allen of Sidley Austin LLP (Presented by Magistrate Judge Geraldine Soat Brown); Alisa B. Arnoff of Scalambrino & Arnoff, LLP (Presented by Magistrate Judge Morton Denlow); Bruce A. Boyer of Loyola University Chicago, School of Law Civitas ChildLaw Clinic (Presented by Magistrate Judge Nan Nolan); Mark H. Boyle and Bryan J. Kirsch (Presented by Magistrate Judge Susan E. Cox); and Caryn L. Jacobs and Courtney L. Anderson of Mayer Brown LLP (Presented by Magistrate Judge Susan E. Cox).

The awards program will also feature written comments and introductions by Chief Judge James F. Holderman and Scott Mendeloff, President of the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association. Joel Daly, District Court Information Officer, will emcee the ceremony.